Six months of training

19 09 2009

Six months of training. Six workouts a week.

I have swam 28 miles. I have biked 728 miles. I have run 168 miles. 

When I first got in the pool, I could barely swim one lap. Now my workouts are almost one mile. I can swim 800 meters in about 15 minutes. When I first went running, it was a struggle to jog a mile in less than 15 minutes. Now I can run one mile in about 7:40 and a 10k with less than a 9-minute-mile pace. I had not been on a bike in a decade when we went shopping for road bikes in March. Six months later, I love cycling and I’m not too bad for a girl – I won my age group for the bike split in my first triathlon in July.

I will swim, bike and run in a race one more time this year at the Kirkland Triathlon on Sunday. I am nervous about this race. The water will be cold, the bike course is hilly, the weather is not supposed to be great. But I am also excited and I know I need to finish this race.

Over the last six months, I have learned how to persevere through pain and exhaustion. I have learned that “physical training has some value,” (1 Timothy 4:8). I am stronger and healthier than I have ever been. One year ago, I was on bed rest not quite 23 weeks pregnant with our son Zephan. Recovering from five months of bed rest was hard. Beginning to swim and bike and run was hard. Doing this as a busy mom of three was hard. Training on top of my many responsibilities to my family and at home was hard. But it has been good. There has been much fruit in my spiritual and emotional life as I have become disciplined like an athlete.

And so as I race on Sunday morning, I will press on not just to finish my race but to “take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me…forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,” (Philippians 3:13-14). As I said before, I am nervous aboout the race on Sunday. I worry my training has been inadequate. But after six months of training – after nearly 1,000 miles of swimming, running and biking – I am ready to see what I am capable of. I hope that by about 9:10 on Sunday morning, I can say:

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7

Actions

Information

One response

20 09 2009
endurancegirl

those are some of my favorite verses 🙂
i hope it went well!! you worked hard and deserve to have had a great race!

PS: you’re a really talented writer!!

Laura

Leave a Reply

