Back at it

19 05 2009

Going on vacation was great. It was sweet to sleep in. To drink coffee and watch the shadows dance on the lush green mountains. To bury my toes in the sand. To hear the joyful sound of my children playing in the water.

Back to real life: piles of laundry and dishes to be washed. Weeds to be pulled. Grass to be mowed. Floors to be vacuumed and mopped. It’s been almost a week. Although the house is back in order, I am having a hard time getting back at it.

I have nine weeks to get ready for the Chelan Man Triathlon.

I have come a long way already. I’ve bought almost all the gear I need. After 6 weeks of training, I’m able to swim 1/4 mile, bike 13 miles or run 3 miles – but I’m not yet able to combine all three. I feel stronger and healthier than I have in years. I know this is an accomplishment after spending most of the last year on bed rest. When people tell me I look great for having had three kids, I know it’s because I’m working really hard.

I still have a long way to go. I began training for the triathlon saying my goal was to finish – but I know that I want to do more than finish. I have no idea how fast I will be compared to other triathletes. I want to be fast compared to myself. I want to feel strong and have fun racing in Chelan – and by Kirkland in September I do want to get objectively faster.

Although in Kauai I had some great runs – nothing beats running along the ocean at sunrise – and I had lots of time in the water, I feel like I have lost some of my momentum. With nine weeks to go, it’s time to get in gear and get more serious about my training.

To that end, I’m going to hopefully go to an open water swimming clinic tonight. It’s like 60 degrees outside and the water won’t be much warmer. I do have a wetsuit, but yikes! I don’t like being cold. But I live in Seattle so I need to get used to cold water. The rest of this week will include biking for 30 minutes on Thursday and 1:15 on Saturday, running for 30 minutes on Wednesday and after the bike ride on Saturday, and swimming in the pool on Friday.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

