Quiet afternoon

2 04 2009

Today has been a good day.

I woke up at 6:00 a.m. to go to the pool before the kids woke up.  It was raining lightly. When I got to the pool, I decided to take a quick run before swimming. I ran about 1 mile and then did my swim workout. At this point, I’m trying to swim 10 x 50 meters with 45 seconds rest between each lap. It has been more than 15 years since I last swam laps – and it is hard! I am slow, uncoordinated and out-of-breath. I am hoping that by swimming 2-3 times a week for the next 6 months, I’ll actually be able to swim 800 meters in the Kirkland Triathlon and get out of the water with some energy left to bike and run.

I got home from the pool at 7:45 a.m. Everyone was just waking up. I love the feeling of getting home early in the morning having already accomplished something while most people were sleeping. I also love the feeling I have after working out. Energy is a good thing. I made coffee, put on clothes and then cleaned the house and made muffins.

We hosted my women’s community group this morning. Our group had a special guest speaker talking about meal planning. This is one of my favorite topics. While the women in our group enjoyed learning together, the kids tore up our playroom upstairs. Yikes, it was a mess! I didn’t know we had that much stuff!

After everyone left, we cleaned up the house and made lunch. The kids were starving. Maybe 5 bowls of mac and cheese (mixed with vegetables) later, the boys went off to naps and quiet time. I made a point to read to both of them before nap/quiet time – something I want to do more often.

And then it was quiet. From 2:00-3:25 p.m. I sat on the couch.

Now the kids are awake and the fun begins again. Asher and Micah are making art. In a few minutes we’ll have a snack. Zephan is awake in his crib – and hungry. We’ll play this afternoon and then tonight I’ll go to Evergreen Hospital to volunteer while Mark cooks the kids waffles and sausage for dinner.

All of this to say…little by little I am getting used to three kids. Zephan is going on 5 months and as each day passes, I’m a little less stressed. A little more relaxed. Figuring this crazy thing called motherhood out. Actually excited to love on little men. Amazed at how each of them are growing and learning.

Actions

Information

One response

3 04 2009
Karen

sounds like you’re doing well!
we’re slowly adjusting to having three little ones, as well. some days are definitely better than others, though, and lately i’ve had more of the not-so-hot days.
yay for Mark cooking dinner. *jealous* Rob doesn’t cook. at. all.

Leave a Reply

