Chelan Man, here I come!

10 03 2009

I may be crazy, but I’ve decided to do a triathlon this summer. Putting this on my blog makes it sound and feel more official. Maybe I will even start a new category for “triathlon training”.

As most of my friends and family know, I’ve spent most of the last 5 years pregnant. I spent 9 months of my three pregnancies on bed rest. Although I used to be a good athlete, these days I can hardly keep up with my three little boys. This is my primary motivation for trying a triathalon. I want to be strong and healthy so I can keep up with my kids. And my husband. We love to ski, climb, hike and travel. I would like to spend the next twenty or so years doing these things with my boys. I know that I am going to have to work pretty hard to keep up with Asher, Micah and Zephan.

There is a little vanity too. I miss some things about the body I had as an athlete. Everything was where it was supposed to be, if you know what I mean!

Asher and Micah are really excited about mommy being in a race. I don’t think they have any idea what this means and I’m guessing they will get a little frustrated when mommy goes swimming or biking…again…but in the end, I think it will be good for our family to have a healthy, strong and happy mom.

My tentative plan at this point is to do the tri-it (1/4 mile swim, 13 mile bike, 3 mile run) at the Chelan Man in July and then the sprint (1/2 mile swim, 13 mile bike, 3 mile run) in Kirkland in September. I know this means I need to get off my rear and start training. It’s just over 4 months to the Chelan race.

I’m going to call a family friend who has lots of experience with triathlon training to figure out what I need to do in order to get ready. But so far, my plan is to use our elliptical trainer 2 times a week, run once a week, take spinning once a week and swim once a week to start. As I get stronger, I will start layering these workouts together. I will also do strength and flexibility training 2-3 times a week.

Anyone want to join me?

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2009
kelly

who will be watching your kids??? that’s the issue i keep running into as i am working very hard to figure out how to get myself back in shape this summer as well. although i won’t be joining you for your triathalon,i am excited for you! and i will be doing my own, quite a bit lighter goal making as well, so maybe we can encourage each other!!

11 03 2009
gloryrevealed

I’d love to encourage and support one another. I’d say we could swap babysitting, but can you imagine our six kids under the age of 5? Yikes!!

The kid issue is definitely the issue. I think that at least until the summer, I’ll do my 3 of my 5 weekly workouts at home with the kids. We have an elliptical trainer and I’m planning to use this instead of running most of the time. I will try to go spinning and go swimming once a week each, either early in the morning (spinning at our gym is at 6:30!), on Thursday night or Saturday morning.

As I get closer to the triathalons, I know I’ll want to pick up the pace, so we’ll have to figure out what to do with the kids. By then I’ll also switch from the elliptical to running outside, the pool to swimming in a lake, and spinning to biking outdoors.

Okay, I need to get off the computer and on the elliptical trainer before we have friends over for dinner!

Leave a Reply

