Peace in his eyes

26 09 2008

“I have been in his eyes as one finding peace.” Song of Soloman 8:10

Last week, I created a photography blog for my husband Mark. When I was trying to come up with a name for his blog, all I could think of was in his eyes. I wanted to express one of the things I enjoy most about my husband’s photography: seeing the world as it is through his eyes.

One of the greatest gifts of marriage is learning how to see the world from another perspective.

Newborn babies think the world revolves around them. Mom and Dad exist only as people who meet their needs. Little by little, young children learn that other people have feelings and thoughts. They learn that the world is big and they are small. They develop the ability to have compassion and humility. They also struggle with sin: selfishness and pride.

In marriage, when two distinct people become one, our compassion and humility clash with our selfishness and pride. We want to love one another well, but we end up fighting for our selfish interest. Over the last nine years, Mark and I have learned to love one another. We fell in love quickly but have chosen to sacrificially love one another more slowly. I believe it is this type of chosen love that endures both the joy and sorrow of a lifetime together.

When I stumbled on this verse from the Song of Solomon – “I have been in his eyes as one finding peace” – I was blown away. I enjoy looking at Mark’s photography because it gives me a deeper view inside his heart. But I have not just been in his eyes – I have been in his eyes as one finding peace.

Many of the pictures Mark has taken of me over the years are of one finding peace. I remember a picture of me floating in shallow turquoise water off the coast of Malaysia, looking up at the sky. All you can see are my toes, my hands and my face. My eyes are closed.

In another picture, I am standing on a cliff looking across a rocky canyon at a mountain stretching over 20,000 feet into the sky in Pakistan.

More recently, he took my photograph as I breastfed our newborn son Micah in the middle of the night.

While he captures these moments of peace in my life, he has also brought me to this place. When I met Mark, I was running. He could see that I was running on ice, never getting anywhere. He told me to stop running: to rest. And for the first time in my life, with Mark I was safe and warm. I could stop running. I could simply be who I was with him.

Peace.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

