Conversations this week

16 09 2008

“Mommy, mommy, mommy!” Micah runs across the bedroom and climbs up a pile of pillows into our bed. He is carrying a little paper sack from the pharmacy.

“Mommy doctor. Medicine.”

“Yes Micah, mommy was at the doctor. Thank you for getting my medicine.”

Micah takes the bottle of pills out of the bag and then carefully inspects the inside.

“Empty.”

“Baby? Kicking?” He leans over to my bare belly and gives me a squishy kiss. He then leans all twenty pounds of his toddler body into my chest.

“Hug.” He pulls my shirt down over my belly and crawls backwards off the bed. “Goodbye.”

* * *

Asher sits with me on the couch and looks at a large stack of ultrasound pictures: 9 weeks, 12 weeks, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20 weeks 3 days, 20 weeks 6 days, and so on.

“Mama, look at his hands. And there, his feet. And look! He has a penis like me!”

He studies the pictures and asks questions about the placenta and the umbilical cord. He quietly leans into my belly and waits to feel his brother kick.

“Mama, I love our baby so much. I love him more than 80 trains.”

In the words of an almost-four-year-old, this is a lot. He loves some things as much as 11 jaguars, others as much as 16 African elephants. Eighty trains.

“Can I pray for the baby?” He knows the answer is yes and he puts sticky hands in mine.

“Jesus, thank you for Mama. Please help our baby grow. Please keep him in Mama’s tummy until the end of my birthday party because I want a long party. Amen.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

