Style Quiz

11 08 2008

This afternoon, I followed a link from my friend Natalie’s blog to a online quiz from a UK home magazine. You pick pictures that appeal to your sense of style.

The first time around, it said that my style is “Country and Modern. It sounds unlikely, but rural properties are amazingly adaptable to a modern style – as your home proves. This country meets modern relies on natural materials and the immediate landscape for inspiration. The result combines simplicity of color and form without overlooking basic comfort, and indeed, the practicalities of raising a family.”

That’s pretty close. I love modern style but our home is in a sort of rural environment. The back of our house has huge windows looking out on trees, and yes, the colors and materials in our home are inspired by the natural world. Both Mark and I like modern furniture, but we are not willing to sacrifice comfort or practicality. I have grown up in both urban and rural environments and feel very much at home in both. 

I think my dream house would be something like this set in a beautiful, natural environment. I’d also be pretty happy living in a loft or a condo in the city, but only if it had a view of something natural and was finished with materials that are a little warmer than concrete and stainless steel. My favorite fabrics include Amy Butler’s midwest modern designs. My favorite furniture store is room and board

Good fun.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

