Fall fashion?

2 08 2008

There are two things I’ve always loved about July: fall fashion magazines and the Nordstrom’s pre-season sale.

Of course I enjoy the sunny weather, sitting on the beach, and drinking mojitos on lazy afternoons. But by the end of July, when the back-to-school supplies hit the shelves at Target, I know it’s time to pick up a stack of magazines and plan my fall shopping.

By August, I can’t wait for the fall. I dream of wearing wool sweaters and boots, turtlenecks and wool pants. I imagine the smell of the crisp air, the crunch of leaves on the ground, and warm apple cider as I pick pumpkins with my boys.

Of course, by the fall, I’m dreaming of Christmas and snow. And by January, I’m dreaming of a tropical vacation. By March, I am tired of the rain and I want to move to California where I could actually wear cute spring clothes before the fourth of July.

This year, however, is different. After my appointment last week at the perinatologist, I thought about going to Nordstrom’s to check out the sale. I realized that walking around the mall with my two children did not count as “taking it easy” and so I went home. I turned on my laptop and went to the nordstrom’s website only to realize that I don’t need to buy any maternity clothes because I already have more than I need. If I can’t buy clothes, maybe I should buy shoes?

I love shoes as much as the next girl. But again, unless I find some cute slippers, shoes will not do me much good in bed.

I looked briefly at the pajamas, but decided that I already have a large enough stack of flannel and now is not the time to invest in something sexy.

I browsed to the baby clothing, but since we’re having our third boy I don’t need to buy anything.

I picked up my September Lucky magazine only to realize that this too is pointless. In my defense, I’m not obsessed with fashion. I enjoy shopping, but it’s not my life and I know that who I am has very little to do with what I own. But it’s still a little sad to realize that this is another thing I’ll have to give up for this season.

At least I can save my clothing budget for next year when I’m finally done with my bump.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 08 2008
andrea

I know exactly how you feel. When I was pregnant I kept reading how my feet would swell up so I resisted buying any shoes. My feet did eventually swell up at around 35weeks. 35 weeks with no new shoes – outrageous 🙂

3 08 2008
kelly

I LOVE this writing. love it.

Leave a Reply

